Exemplar Work (STRAVA)

Strava is a key work associated with my project due to the integration of its API. I extensively researched Strava for my dissertation, titled: ‘An Ethnographic Exploration Into How Strava Augments The Social World Of The Serious Leisure Activity Of Long Distance Running’, so developed an in-depth understanding of the application. I am also a keen user of the popular social fitness application, aware of its numerous social and gamification features. Reflecting upon my broader research, I strategically employed gamification elements within my website due to it being a highly favoured feature within Strava.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 15.45.52

I took inspiration from Strava’s data visualisation and hence decided to display the guide in simple bar charts. I am inspired by Strava’s use of icon, and will design my own running related icons to feature within the site.Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 15.56.39.png

I took inspiration from Strava’s website design, particularly the login/registration. I like the use of a large running related background image with a transparent text box and will consider something similar for my project.

Leave a Reply

