Xcode – Map App

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 21.34.00Here is a screen shot of a map app that I produced, displaying pins for restaurant in Bournemouth town. To create this mini app, I used existing knowledge of arrays, variables, classes and images, butScreen Shot 2015-02-21 at 21.30.43 also learnt a lot about MKMapView.

Users can interact with the map view, zooming in and out to different locations and rotating the map. These interactive gestures help to make the app more appealing as users expect to use different touch screen gestures when experiencing different apps. When you click on a pin, the restaurant name, comment and image appears. I think it works well and if I was to develop it further I would go on to create more pins for different locations.

To set the coordinate of the pins, I had to get the longitude and latitude on the restaurants. I also made it so when previewed, the map automatically displays bournemouth. This save the user time in have to zoom in as otherwise it displays the whole of the UK. Thinking about the user experience is important as they will have expectations gained from using existing similar apps. I also set it so the pin drop is animated, although this feature is only small, I feel it benefits the apps. It is important to think about the little things that could help enhance a users experience, and animate could be a feature to explore further.

Here is the code:Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 21.28.31

 

Here is the Restaurants class, consisting of variables and initialisers:

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 21.28.42

 

I feel that my xcode knowledge is developing over the workshops and I am learning some useful features. From this, I will continue to develop my skills as well as develop ideas for our group app.

Leave a Reply

