Xcode – Checklist App

checklist appAbove are screen shots of a checklist app that I have been working on in workshops. As you can see, the app displays multiple rows with tasks to complete. If you swipe left on a row, then an option comes up to delete the task, and if you press the ‘+’ button, you can add a new task. Creating this checklist app enabled me to advance my knowledge and learn about new xcode features. I will explain some of the features I learnt and how they will come in useful when it comes to creating our group app.

– Using a table view controller. This is important if we wish to create an app that requires a table. I learnt how to set up an array of items and initiateScreen Shot 2015-02-21 at 17.53.21 them to display in the table. As well as using tableView methods such as numberOfRowsInSection and cellForRowAtIndexPath etc.

– Using if statements, so that if an item is pressed, the tick appears and disappears. As well as if the cell is swiped theScreen Shot 2015-02-21 at 17.56.48 delete button appears etc. Conditional statements are important to learn as they are required in most apps.

– Using delegates/protocols (a blueprint of methods, properties, and other requirements that suit a particular task or piece of functionality). These are important when it comes to creating more complex apps and isScreen Shot 2015-02-21 at 18.01.57 something I need to explore further if I want to become the programmer for our group app.

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 18.04.13– Using buttons – this is important to learn as is a common feature in apps. You can apply different properties to the button and connect it up so that when pressed it does a certain action.

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 18.06.14

 

I am pleased with the outcome and the app works as expected. To improve, I feel I could edit the colours and fonts to make it more visually appealing and to also make it stand out from existing checklist apps. From this, I feel that I need to explore delegates further in order to develop my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

