Testing in Studio

Today I tested my interactive piece in the studio room, W119. There was a white board and white projector screen available which I was able to use for the clear background. From testing the piece, it allowed me to see if it worked properly, as well as to see if there are more improvements that can be made. Here is a video of me testing my piece:

As you can see, on the screen I was captured as a black silhouette as planned. However, the background wasn’t entirely clear as it picked up the edges of the board and screen. Therefore they came up as black blocks/lines and obstructed the shapes from falling. To fix this problem, I need to ensure that the screen I use is big enough in order to fill the width of the camera. As you can’t entirely see the screen, here is a screen recording of the test:

From this, I feel that I need to edit the speed again to make the shapes fall faster. I also think I need to edit the size of the shapes more so that there are some bigger ones rather than them all being small. The programming works as expected as when the shapes are on a white pixel the descend and when on black they ascend. By carrying out prior testing, it has allowed me to further improve my piece to make it more suitable and successful. I am pleased with the outcome and will make further amendments so it is ready to display on the public screens in Weymouth House.

Leave a Reply

