Public Screens in Weymouth House

I went to the public space and analysed which public screen to display my interactive piece on. This is important as the screen it is displayed on can alter how successful it may be. I looked at which screens stand out more in the public space and what size screen would work best for my piece. As well as thinking about where I would position a camera and white screen. Below I have analysed each screen in relation to the public space to evaluate which would be most successful to display my interactive piece on…
20150114_145309

Screen 1 – I feel that these screens would not be suitable for my piece due to their being six fairly small screens. Also, due to the layout of the space, there is a seating area and a white post obstructing its view. I feel there wouldn’t be enough room for users to interact with my piece and feel that these screens are a bit segregated from the main public space. Not many people walk through between the seating areas so I feel my piece would not be successful here

20150114_145130

 

 

Screen 2 – These double screens are situated at the front entrance to Weymouth House. The screens are a good size for my piece and there is a large area around in which users can interact. People walk past the screens when going in and out of the public space, so I feel my piece would be fairly successful in this location. The automatic doors are opposite, which could obstruct the falling shapes so I would have to put a white screen up a few metres from the screen. I would have to ensure that this doesn’t block the entrance and people can still freely access the space.

20150114_145209

 

Screen 3 – These double screens are location opposite costa in the main path through of the public space. I feel that again they are a good size for my piece and feel they are the most noticed screens. Due to Costa being in the background as well as numerous posters on the walls, I would need to put up a white screen. This could be positioned a few metres from the screen, near the table. This means the screen would be more out of the way and doesn’t block peoples walking path through the space.

20150114_145527

 

Screen 4 -This single screen is located in between the lifts at the rear of the public space. It is a suitable size but I feel it is slightly isolated from the main space. People waiting for lifts may interact but that may only be for a short amount of time until the lift comes. I feel that this screens isn’t that noticed and think that my piece would not be that successful if displayed here.

 

I have decided that the screen I will display my interactive piece on is screen 3 (opposite costa). I think it has the best location in the public space and is the most noticed screen. I feel my interactive piece would work best in this location as it is in the main path through the space so there will be lots of people to hopefully interact with it. I feel it is also in the best location to put a white screen up as it won’t block the pathway and cause any obstructions. Analysing each of the screens is useful as it has allowed me to evaluate where my piece would be more successful. I feel it is very important as the screen choice can alter whether a piece is successful or not. Next, I will continue to make improvements to my piece and then test the final piece on my chosen screen.

Leave a Reply

