Processing Experiments

Over the holidays, I have been working on my interactive idea, developing the code and experimenting with different objects. Using Shiffmans brightness thresholding example, I then used existing knowledge of object orientated programming to create different classes (a blueprint that allows us to create an object), where each class contains data, constructors and methods. The methods I used for the different classes were all fairly similar:
void display () – displays the class (ellipse, rect, img etc.)
void descend () – descends to bottom of sketch (y+yspeed)
void bottom () – when they reach bottom, the start back at top of sketch (if (y > height){y=0;})

One idea is to have various brightly coloured shapes, here is an example:

I like the simplicity of this idea, and think the various shapes could work well. It makes the piece appeal like a game, which will hopefully encourage users to interact. I like the bright colours and this is something I would definitely use, no matter what objects I decide to use. The colours really stand out on the black and white video capture and I think it’ll look good when I go program it so the black pixels obstruct them from falling. I think the shapes would be a simple, yet effective objects to incorporate into the piece.

Another idea is to have ‘raining men’, here is an example:

golcondaThis idea links back to Magrittes’ surreal art work (image to right). I like the fact it looks quite unusual, and think it strongly relates to my concept of surrealism. I would have to program it so when the bottom of the ‘raining men’ figures reaches a black pixels then it moves up to a white. Again, I really like the bright colours and think they help make the piece stand out and look more appealing. The disadvantage is that it may be slightly harder to program using figures but I am willing to experiment further.

From this idea, I could incorporate various stick man doing different activities, in order to make it more varied and interesting. For example, I could have figures carrying out different sporting activities. Each figure could be a different bright colour, helping it to stand out and make it more visually appealing. Sport is something I enjoy and thus this will make my piece more personal. This can also relate back to my previous post regarding Slinkachu and his intriguing street photography of tiny people.

sports-symbols-hi

Another idea inspired by Cerise Doucède photography is to have falling objects that relate to the public space. Due to my interactive installation being in the Media School this idea could work well and users can relate to the various objects, here are some examples: social media 1 | black2012051003csicons-02

From experimenting with my interactive piece, I have learnt that the brightness thresholding example works best when the background is clear. Also, it depends on the lighting of the space and the set threshold number as to how silhouette like figures will be. I need to test these example in the space to see if it will work. I may find that the background may be a problem due to the walls having various photographs and posters on them. So, I will have to test on various public displays to see which one would work best and alter the thresholding accordingly. If needed, I may have to put up a white screen in the public space and set it up so users stand in front of the screen.

Next I will go on to add a class method:
void obstruct () – descend when on white pixel and ascend when on black pixel.
I plan to do this using previous knowledge of conditional statements and gaining help in workshop if required. Then, I will begin to test my piece both in the public space and with the target audience, to gain feedback and further follow the iterative design process.

Leave a Reply

