Silhouette Photography

A silhouette is…

“a two-dimensional representation of the outline of an object, as cutout or configurational drawing, uniformly filled in with black…” (Dictionary.com, 2014)

For my idea, I would like to capture people as silhouettes rather than in full detail. I feel this would help to encourage people to interact, as some won’t like being on camera. If the public space is busy, I feel that people may be embarrassed to interact with the piece so due to it not capturing full details of the person this could resolve this problem. I decided to briefly have a look at some silhouette photography and here are some that stood out to me…

ss2

s3

I think that in each of the photos, the silhouette really stands out, being very bold and clear, of which I aim for mine to be like. I especially like the bottom photo as it relates to the concept of surrealism. In the photo, the people have puzzle pieces as faces, this blurs the boundaries between reality and the imagination. They are hand-cut paper silhouettes, being held as if they are positioned on top of buildings and the pieces of the puzzle fit together, imitating people kissing. For my piece, I plan to have a white background, video capturing black silhouettes interacting with various brightly coloured falling objects. Next, I will go on to develop my idea by further experimenting with processing to develop my code.

1stWebDesigner, 2012. 60 Beautiful & Stunning Examples of Silhouette Photography [online]. Available from: http://www.1stwebdesigner.com/silhouette-photography/ [Accessed 13 December 2014].

Dictionary.com, 2014. Dictionary [online]. Available from: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/silhouette [Accessed 13 December 2014].

TrendHunter, 2012. Surreal Silhouette Papercrafts [online]. Available from: http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/dreampapercut-by-dmytro-and-iuliia [Accessed 13 December 2014].

Leave a Reply

