Surreal Photography

I have explored the concept of surrealism further by researching some surreal photography pieces. Here are some pieces that stood out most to me, I will analyse what I like about each one and relate them to my idea for my interactive piece.

photo surrealThis piece is by Ronen Goldman, it features a man obstructing apples that are flying towards him with an open umbrella. Goldman turns fantasies into works of art – ‘photo-dreams’. This piece was in fact inspired by Magrittes’ paintings, after Goldman went and visited the Magritte Museum in Belgium. I like the simplicity of this idea, and it has highlighted to me how simple ideas can be just as effective. It has quite a humorous effect and is very eye catching. The surreal element of the addition of the flying apples really helps to make viewers look deeper into the image, in order to understand what it being represented.

surreal

This piece is by Slinkachu, it stood out to me as it is very unique and unusual. It features miniature people having a ‘Tug Of War’ with a £10 note. The use of tiny people in his photography really helps to blur the boundaries between the real and the imaginary, hence show surrealism. This idea is again quite simple, but it has a strong effect, of which engages viewers deeper into his street photography. Slinachu uses everyday objects that are found in the streets and incorporates tiny people to create imagined scenes/stories, for example, skating on orange peel, shooting a bee etc.

EgarementsThis piece is by Cerise Doucède, her photography features flying objects that relate to the scene.Cerise says in her photography, ‘The imagination takes precedence over reality, the invisible becomes visible.’ In this piece, the couple are having breakfast in bed and there are various flying plates, mugs, cutlery and foods. I really like her photography as again it is very unique and interesting. It relates really well to my piece as likewise, I plan to have flying objects. The surreal element of the flying objects undoubtedly make the piece more intriguing and engaging.

From looking at surreal photography, it has really helped to inspire me for my piece. It has given me more ideas as to the objects that I could include in my piece. From looking at Ronen Goldman’s photography, I could incorporate animals or foods as the gravitating object in my piece. From looking at Slinkachu, I could include tiny people in my piece, which also relates back to Margrittes surreal artwork. I could have the people carrying out different activities, whether it be different sports or different activities relating to the media school (on laptop/filming/radio presenting). Finally, by looking at Cerise Doucède, I could relate the falling objects to the public space and have objects such as phones, laptops, cameras etc, or could relate the objects specifically to Digital Media Design and have objects the relate to the course, such as mac and adobe icons. By exploring surreal photography, it has made me realise more about how I could use surrealism in my piece. I have learnt that the piece doesn’t need to be highly complex as these pieces all show how simple ideas/concepts can be very interesting and engaging. Each piece is very unusual and unique, of which I want my piece to be. This will hopefully help it to stand out in the public space and encourage users to explore deeper into the piece and interact with it.

References:

Goldman, R, 2014. Ronen Goldman [online]. Available from: http://www.ronengoldman.com/?gallery=surrealistic-pillow-project-gallery [Accessed 9 Dec].

Slinkachu, 2014. Slinkachu [online]. Available from: http://slinkachu.com/home [Accessed 9 Dec].

Doucède, C, 2013. Cerise D [online]. Available from: http://cerisedoucede.fr/portfolio/egarements-4/ [Accessed 9 Dec].

Leave a Reply

