Processing Workshop – Mapping

Today, I learnt about the map function, which ‘re-maps a number from one range to another’. I used existing knowledge of importing images and the 2d pixel array formula – x+(y*width), and mapped the pixel colours of the image to a height location on the screen which is determined by the mouse. Here is the code:Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 14.46.59Learning the map function was useful as it advances my programming knowledge, however I don’t plan on using this function in my piece. If I was to relate this mapping idea more to the brief, I would setup up a video capture so that the colour pixels of the video are mapped.

Processing (2014). Processing: Map [online]. Available from: https://www.processing.org/reference/map_.html [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Leave a Reply

