Experimenting With Processing

In order to be able to advance my coding knowledge in processing, it is important that I fully understand all the basics that we have explored in previous workshop. However, as I didn’t feel entirely confident in my understanding, I have been watching lots of Daniel Shiffmans’ videos. Focussing on the skills I need to produce my idea, I further explored object-orientated programming. I felt that the knowledge I gained from the workshop was sufficient but felt I didn’t fully understand it. In specific, I looked at videos that taught me about classes, what they are and how to create them. As well as looking at arrays, what they are and how to use them, whether it be for 3, 100, or infinity amount of objects. From watching the videos I feel my understanding of object-orientated programming has developed, and I used this knowledge to produce a piece, that consists of 3 classes (circles, squares and rectangles), which continuously gravitating towards the bottom of the sketch. I produced an array of each class and set it so a certain amount of each shape appears. I also randomised the size of each so you get lots of gravitating shapes of different sizes. As well as setting up an if statement so that when the objects reach the bottom of the sketch, they start descending from the top again. Here is the outcome:

By carrying out more research on processing, I have been able to develop my skills and become more familiar with object-orientated programming. Classes are a template for an object, consisting of unique data and functionality, and an array is a list of data. What I learnt and have produced will be useful towards my final interactive piece. Next, I will further research video capturing, motion and thresholding.

Shiffman, D, 2014. Vimeo – Shiffman’s Videos [online]. Available from: http://vimeo.com/shiffman/videos/ [Accessed 24 November 2014].

Leave a Reply

