Processing – Experimenting with Video

I have been looking at some processing video examples that I find interesting in order to help me develop ideas for my interactive piece. I have also been watching some of Daniel Shiffmans’ processing tutorials in order to improve my understanding of past processing skills that I have learnt as well as develop new skills. I have learnt more about the Capture class, and the steps required to setup video capturing. I am going to analyse some video capturing examples, and explore how I could make it interactive within public spaces.

  • Video Pixelation – Likewise to images, you can also get the pixels of a video capture. Similarly, you have to use for loops and the pixel array formula (x+(y*width)) but in this case you load the video capture rather than an image. An idea relating to video pixelation could be that if people are moving at a certain speed, they will become pixelated, whereas if they are stood still in the space they become in focus.
  • Motion Detection – This is something I would like to incorporate into my interactive piece, but I need to be aware that at busy periods, there will be lots of movement within the public space. An idea related to motion is that when someone walks into the pubic space a new class/object will be created, which then follows the fastest movement within the public space (motion tracking).
  • Colour Tracking – Instead of tracking motion within the space, I could set it so the camera tracks a certain colour. For example, when someone walks past wearing red, an object could follow them on the public screen. However, this would become complex if there was lots of people wearing the same colours.

From looking at these examples, it has helped me to improve my processing knowledge about video capturing and motion detection/tracking. From this, I would like to incorporate motion in order to make my piece interactive, but still need to continue to fully develop an idea. To do this, I am next going to look at some existing interactive pieces that I find interesting.

Processing (2014). Processing [online] Available from: http://www.processing.org/[Accessed 11 November 2014].

Leave a Reply

