Processing – Experimenting with Images

Throughout Reading Week, I have been experimenting with processing and have been looking at several different processing examples. This has enabled me to gain more ideas for my piece and possible concepts that I can explore. I have edited the examples used and will briefly analyse each one to explain how I could possibly make it interactive within the public space.

  • Image Layering (Transparency)

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 19.09.55

This idea relates back to the previous post about Palimpsest, and the idea of layers. In the above example, I loaded 3 images onto processing and altered their opacity so you can still see all 3 images layered upon one another. I could make this idea interactive as I could set it so every few minutes, the camera takes an image of the public space, the images are then layered on top of one another, with the opacity reduced so that previous images are still visible. This idea could relate to the concept of representation, as the layers of images blur what each image represents as it kind of merges the images together. Also, different people depending on when they are in Weymouth House would see different layered images on the displays and individuals may interpret the displays differently. Some may notice the past images whereas others may not, hence the representation of the piece will be open to arbitrary decodings.

  • Image Pixel Distortionoutput_TbebgC

This idea comes from one of the processing examples – Explode – The mouses horizontal location controls the breaking apart of image and maps pixels from a 2D image into 3D space. I could make this idea interactive as each time someone walks past the camera, the pixels could move, hence the busier the public space is, the more distorted the image will become.

  • Pointillism

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 19.28.24

This idea comes from another processing example – Pointillism – The mouses horizontal location controls size of dots and it creates a simple pointillist effect using ellipses coloured according to pixels in an image. I experimented with editing the coScreen Shot 2014-11-04 at 19.29.40de so that it used rectangles instead of ellipses, thus creating a different effect. To make this idea interactive within the public space, I could set it so it captures an image of Weymouth House and then each time someone walks past the camera a certain number of pixel ellipses/rectangles appear.

From looking at examples, I may decide to do something that relates to the concept of representation, and the idea of how contemporary audience decode multiple different meanings and messages from pieces. I would definitely like to make it interactive by basing it around motion and movement within the public space. From this, I need to decide what images to possibly use or whether to base it on video capturing. Next, I am going to look at some video capture examples to help me develop my ideas and experiment further with processing by learning more about how to capture videos and track motion within a public space.

Leave a Reply

