Processing Workshop – Images

Today, I learnt how to add images into processing, and how to scale and tint them. To begin, I learnt the basic of how to add images to the sketch and load it. I used existed knowledge of mouseX, mouseY so that the image followed the mouse around the screen and I applied a blue tint to the image…

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 14.06.11

I then learnt about image pixels and how to use them in two dimensional as pixels are normal stored in a one dimensional linear sequence. I used the Processing tutorial in order to understand how pixels work and this diagram is particularly useful.

pixelarray2dTo get the pixels of my image, first I had to load the pixels. Then, I had to set up a nested for loop of so that it will continuously loop through all the pixels. I then had to use the formula x+(y*width) to calculate the one dimension locations from a two dimension grid and colour each pixel according to the image. I set the size of the pixels as an integer so I can easily change the value of ‘s’ and the pixels size will change.

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 14.59.48

I loaded another image into the sketch and used a conditional statement so that when the mouse pressed, the image changes. I also made the pixels shake by using the random() feature. I added text to each the images, of which I set the fill colour and positioning.

output_PbbFAX

Gaining this knowledge of pixel was useful and it is something I could incorporate into my piece. The use of text is also a good skill and something that I would possibly like to explore further.

Processing (2014). Processing: Images And Pixels [online]. Available from: https://processing.org/tutorials/pixels/ [Accessed 24 October 2014].

Leave a Reply

